I need help.

Nov 8, 2012 at 9:00 PM

Hello, I found the link to this project and figured I'd download it to see what it is about. I've been programming for several years, but know basically nothing about 3D modeling. I choose to start developing with the XNA framework because it's easy, and all my experience is in c-based languages. Once I got your editor up and running, I'm having two issues:

1) I tried adding an "EnginePipeline" reference to a code project, but that project is giving me an Error when I go to build it. 2) Additionally, is there any documentation floating around as to what exactly your editor is/does/how to use it? I assumed it was a 3D modeling program ala UDK, Blender, Unity, Maya, etc, but so far the only thing I can seem to "create" is a terrain. I know -just- barely enough about 3DS max, Blender, etc to create my own basic, crude models (and can import them into your scene editor), but I don't know where to go from there. I love the idea of being able to build 3D maps that XNA reads by default so I'd really like to give your Scene Editor a chance.

All I -really- want is a super easy way to create 3d Maps that I can plug into an XNA game so I can begin working on the basics of a 3D rpg. The code stuff will be easy to build upon if I can get a working basic model for a game. I don't want to use a program like Unity because I want to learn how to write the game-design stuff myself. I've been googling for weeks to find the "idiots" guide to getting started or whatnot, and with my extremely limited knowledge, every turn seems to be a dead end. Thank you for hearing me out, and hopefully you can get me started on the right path.

Coordinator
Nov 10, 2012 at 1:45 PM

Hi,